Home Board of Directors The Team Our Responsibilities
Protected Areas Forum Research Forum ESD Forum NRMP Forum Maeba Forum
Dept of Environmentl Affairs SANParks BSP Wildlands GEF 5

All photos © of K2C Biosphere Region  |  info@kruger2canyons.org  |    

Website designed by Bushveld Connections

Home About Us Our World Networks Programmes Publications Take Action Contact Us
This website has been upgraded through USAID|RESILIM
MAB Documents Reports Research Newsletter K2C Maps
Green Economy Responsible Tourism  Climate Change Contacts Us

IIn South Africa, there are currently 6 registered Biosphere Reserves under UNESCO’s Man and the Biosphere Programme, these include (listed in order of registration achieved):

In 2010, National Government (Dept of Environmental Affairs), as per UNESCO requirements, formed a National MaB Committee (NMC).   The NMC consists of a representative from each of the registered biosphere’s as well as relevant government representatives who come together to discuss relevant issues, policy and strategy on a national scale.    Within each of the provinces that have numerous biospheres (such as Cape Province and Limpopo Province), provincial committees have also been established thatmeet on a regular basis to discuss issues and strategies to be dealt with on a provincial level..

K2C supports and encourages partnerships, networking and joint projects with all biosphere’s in the country and apply the philosophy that working together will strengthen the outcome.


The Cape Winelands Biosphere Reserve (CWBR) is located within the Western Cape’s Cape Floral Kingdom in South Africa. It is located in the Western Cape Province of South Africa approximately 40 km east of Cape Town.


The Vhembe Biosphere Reserve is situated in the Limpopo Province, in the far north of South Africa. It covers five local municipal areas (Blouberg, Musina, Makhado, Thulamela and Mutale) and includes a portion of the Kruger National Park, specifically that area north of the Shingwedzi River.


The Gouritz Cluster Biosphere Reserve is located in the southern part of South Africa. It is divided into four connected sectors ranging from sea level to 2,240 metres. The area is the only place in the world where three recognized biodiversity hotspots converge (Fynbos, Succulent Karoo and Maputoland-Tongoland-Albany).


The Biosphere Reserve is located in South Africa between the cities of Pretoria and Johannesburg to the east and Rustenburg to the west. The reserve lies at the interface of two great African biomes - the Central Grassland Plateaux and the sub-Saharan savannah - and the remnants of a third biome, the Afro - montane forest.


Kogelberg Biosphere Reserve is situated in the Western Cape Province about 40 km from Cape Town. It covers 103,629 hectares, more than 80% of which consists of mountainous landscape ranging from high mountain peaks and deep valleys to gentle hills and lower mountain slopes.


.The Cape West Coast Biosphere stretches northward from Diep River in Cape Town, South Africa to  the Berg  River  and  covers  378000 hectares  of  coastal  lowland plains Located  in  the  Cape  floristic kingdom,  this  biosphere  reserve is  known  for  its  mosaic  of diverse  ecosystems  and  habitats which  include marine, beach and frontal dune environments, pans, wetlands and rocky outcrops.


Waterberg Biosphere Reserve is situated within the Waterberg district in the Limpopo Province of South Africa. The Waterberg, as the name implies, serves as a water reservoir for this arid region.  There are four main river catchment areas which provide water to an area of over 40,000km2.

MORE>> MORE>> MORE>> MORE>> MORE>> MORE>> MORE>> Relevant Documents Back (history)